My First Attempt at Bookbinding

This was my first try at bookbinding. I first got the idea for this from a blog post here.

My first Notebook

My first Notebook

The idea seemed easy enough to do. You only require easily available household goods to make this happen.

I made this from:

  • 10 sheets of HP Premium Choice Laser paper
  • Sewing needle
  • Dental Floss
  • Phone Book
  • Letter opener (to be used to flatten out a crease)

And to add a nice touch to it, I stole the cardstock cover from an old A5 Clairefontaine notebook which I was no longer using, and used it as a cover for this notebook.

Here’s a closeup of the stitchwork:

Stitchwork

Stitchwork

I had cut it to the specifications of the regular size Midori Traveller’s notebook and after I was done, I attached it by means of rubber band to the Midori, and now I have something that I can carry anywhere.

Notebook Inside a Midori

Notebook Inside a Midori

My next attempt at this will be using thinner paper.

The FountainPenDay video uses Tomoe River paper and I do have some of it as well. But I’m afraid I’ll screw up and mess it all up.

So I will instead use Onion Skin paper which I have on order now and I’m waiting for it to arrive in the mail.

I hope you enjoyed this post.

Leave a Reply

