Last Week’s Spoils

Hi All, I had an exciting prior week. It has been very busy at work these days so I try to maintain sanity by indulging in my hobby.

Ink Bottles

Noodler’s Bernanke Inks and
Sheaffer Skrip Red

I placed an order for a heap-load of inks from AndersonPens.net. Brian and Lisa are awesome folks and they got the order shipped out to me the same day. Usually a package shipped from Wisconsin gets here to the San Francisco Bay Area the next day.

Noodler's Bernanke Black

Noodler’s Bernanke Black

I’ve developed a curiosity around the Noodler’s Bernanke line of fast drying inks. Primarily these inks are intended for lefties. As they write from left to right, their left hand has to go over the freshly written words, and so they have to exercise caution not to smear the ink that may still be wet. A fast drying ink, obviously, would help.

I am not a lefty, but I needed a fast drying ink to use for jotting things down quickly in my mini notepads (grocery lists, to-do lists) and not having to wait too long for the ink to dry. In the past I used a post-it note as blotting paper. I stuck it onto the opposing page of the one I was currently going to write on, and it would serve as a shield to prevent fresh ink from smearing onto the opposing page. This seems to work really well, as the post-it note also tends to serve as a bookmark as well.

I initially ordered a Goulet ink Sampler Set of fast drying inks. It contained both Bernanke Black and Bernanke Blue, plus several colors from Private Reserve. I was quite amazed by the drying speed of Bernanke Black. I will do a dry-test in a later post.

Sheaffer Kings Gold

Sheaffer Kings Gold

I also threw into the order a bottle of vintage Sheaffer Kings Gold ink. That things was a devil to unscrew. You can probably see the plier marks on the cap. I read that this ink is very similar to J. Herbin’s Ambre de Birmanie. I’ve ordered a Goulet sampler of it so I can do a comparison.

Well there you have it. I’ll see you again on my next post.

Enjoy..

Leave a Reply

